h1

Growing Coffee: a backyard job

September 30, 2014
growing coffee at home

19 comments

  1. Super impressed with this Ambra!!


    • Thanks Paola. It’s quite time-consuming and now I appreciate coffee even more.


  2. Very impressive! Verrrrrrrry, impressive!


    • Thanks Liz. I might write part 2 of the coffee ‘journey’.


  3. Oh you are very clever Ambra!x


    • And I love how you go it in time for International Coffee Day – a very auspicious sign. Deep bow.


      • Thanks Dianne. I harvested it a few weeks ago but didn’t get round to roasting it until last weekend, so yes, very auspicious. Hope you’re well.


  4. Wow – good for you. I wouldn’t have though this could be done in the backyard.


    • I guess the climate is humid enough here in Sydney, but no, not many people think about growing coffee trees.


  5. Well I got this one Ambra dambra!


    • Ah mystery solved. Your computer obviously isn’t interested in blog posts with more than 20 words in them!


  6. I’ve often wondered whether after growing the coffee, it was possible to actually make a good tasting brew out of it. Thanks for the inspiration!


    • Mine probably wouldn’t win any prizes on an international level, but I’ve had much worse. And paid for it!


  7. What pretty leaves on your coffee tree. This is a brilliant back yard growing triumph. Lovely photographs too 😀


    • Thanks Merryn. It’s lovely to see the tree go from being full of white blossoms, to then developing the green berries and then the cherry red berries.


  8. I have too many questions for words … How long did this take? How many trees? How much did you harvest? What the heck does it taste like? And an observation: you are a crazy gardener. Awesome work lady. Suitably impressed from where i’m sitting x


  9. Hi Rachel. It took about 3-4 months from blossoms to ripe cherries. One tree only, about 25 years old! I harvested about 1-1/2 kilos of berries (still waiting for some berries to ripen on tree) which resulted in about half that quantity when beans removed from berries. The taste was pretty good, much to my surprise. Crazy me? Yes, probably. I’ll write up a post about it soon.


  10. We have grown coffee trees here in nth Queensland (and they flourish ) but roasting and getting it right is so hard. Looks like you achieved that! Great! Love your blog.


    • Thanks Marcellina. I have to admit to a bit of trial and error in the roasting process, but it’s been great experimenting. Thanks for stopping by – I’m heading over to your blog soon.



Leave a comment